top of page

A Twelve minute tour de force romp through one of the 20th century's greatest musicals. 


Commissioned by Dominic Seldis. A medley of music from West Side Story composed by Leonard Bernstein and arranged for Double Bass Quartet by Ashley Frampton.

Dominic Seldis Says;

" I commissioned this superb arrangement after being booked by the Royal Concertgebouw in Amsterdam to perform in their 'Tracks' series in February 2015. This series likes to stretch the boundary of possibility and imagination of the performer, the instrument that they play and the audience, so my idea of having 4 Dominics ( 3 life size projections and 1 live ) on stage at the same time playing a bass quartet fitted the bill perfectly.

My brief to Ashley was for it to be visually exciting as well as musically and technically challenging and of course he did not disappoint. This arrangement is great fun to play and a hit with audience. Best of luck with playing it, and thanks Ashley!!"


This arrangement works best with four players with solid higher techniques, above all have fun!

Why not have a peek at thepreview images and see if you fancy the challenge



  • Oveture
  • Something's coming
  • I feel pretty
  • Cha cha cha
  • There's a place for us
  • Maria
  • Officer Kropke
  • America

West Side Story Suite / West Side Basses

    bottom of page