top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshley Frampton

Hertl 4 Pieces for Double bass & Piano (Orchestral tuning)

Out Now

The renowned Czech double bass player, composer, conductor and teacher František Hertl (1906–1973) wrote many concert and teaching pieces for his instrument. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instrument’s expressive potential and sound qualities.

These four pieces for double bass comprising a Prelude, Burlesque, Nocturne and Tarantella were composed in 1968. They have remained very popular among double bass players to the present day while being extremely challenging to play.

This edition is presented in orchestral tuning. This music is copyrighted by Barenreiter and this copy is to compliment the Shafer edition and not replace it. You must have the original before purchasing.

This is available as a

If you are interested in Frantisek Hertl's wonderful music then visit where you can buy the 30 miniatures for double bass & Piano, lovely short pieces well written for the bass.

28 views0 comments


bottom of page