top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshley Frampton

Hoffmeister Concerto no. 1 in C & D majors Orchestral and Solo tuning, available now

The evergreen concerto number 1 by Franz Anton Hoffmeister

Double bass part in C Major

Piano part available in 2 keys.

C Major (orchestral tuning)

D Major (solo tuning)

If you need the E flat piano part please email us and it can be arranged.

Available as a printed copy


PDF Download

Franz Anton Hoffmeister was born in Rottenburg am Neckar (Further Austria) on 12 May 1754. At the age of fourteen, he went to Vienna to study law. Following his studies, however, he decided on a career in music and by the 1780s he had become one of the city’s most popular composers, with an extensive and varied catalogue of works to his credit.

Hoffmeister’s reputation today rests mainly on his activities as a music publisher. By 1785 he had established one of Vienna’s first music publishing businesses, second only to Artaria & Co, which had ventured into the field five years earlier.

Hoffmeister published his own works as well as those of many important composers of the time, including Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Clementi, Johann Georg Albrechtsberger, Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf and Johann Baptist Wanhal. These famous composers were also among Hoffmeister's personal friends: Mozart dedicated his String Quartet in D to him and Beethoven addressed him in a letter as my "most beloved brother".

13 views0 comments


bottom of page